Every Country where King Charles III is Head of State

Buckingham palace

Every Country where King Charles III is Head of State

Many people believe that as the King of England, Charles III’s sovereignty stops at the borders of the United Kingdom. However, this is not true. As of May 2024, 15 separate Commonwealth realms look to King Charles III as their monarch. 

While his role is mostly ceremonial, King Charles III is the “Head of the Commonwealth,” so he remains the monarch for 15 countries worldwide. Let’s identify these 15 Commonwealth realms and see where they are located across North America, Europe, and Oceania (Pacific Ocean).


Flag of Tuvalu. National symbols of Tuvalu.
The small nation of Tuvalu has the Union Jack on its flag.
  • Prime Minister: Feleti Teo
  • Population: 11,204

A Polynesian island located in the Oceania subregion, Tuvalu declared independence from the UK in October 1978 but still functions as a constitutional monarchy. 

Saint Kitts and Nevis

The Flag of St. Kitts.
Saints Kitts and Nevis remain a part of the Commonwealth.
  • Prime Minister: Terrance Drew
  • Population: 47,606

A two-island country in the West Indies, Saint Kitts and Nevis have been Commonwealth realms since 1983. 

Antigua and Barbuda

Aerial view of Redcliffe Quay and St. Johns, capital city of Antigua and Barbuda island, Caribbean Sea
Antigua has been a part of the Commonwealth for decades.
  • Prime Minister: Gaston Browne
  • Population: 93,219

Antigua and Barbuda is a sovereign country in the Caribbean with two separate islands. After declaring independence in 1981, the country chose to remain part of the Commonwealth. 

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

Coastline full of boats with lots of living houses on the hill, Kingstown, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Saint Vincent declared independence 45 years ago.
  • Prime Minister: Ralph Gonsalves
  • Population: 104,332

Located in the eastern Caribbean, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines declared independence in October 1979. However, it opted to remain part of the Commonwealth of Nations. 


Gouyave st John Grenada West Indies
Grenada continued to be part of the Commonwealth after declaring independence.
  • Prime Minister: Dickon Mitchell
  • Population: 124,610

Grenada, an island country in the West Indies, had been part of the British Empire since 1763. After declaring independence in February 1974, Grenada remained part of the Commonwealth. 

Saint Lucia

Saint Lucia marked with Red Circle on Realistic Map.
Saint Lucia was originally settled hundreds of years ago.
  • Prime Minister: Philip J. Pierre
  • Population: 179,651

An island country in the West Indies, Saint Lucia is believed to have been first settled in 200 AD. Although it declared independence from the British in 1979, it remains part of the Commonwealth. 


San Pedro, Belize Drone Photo of Island
Belize is the only Central American country on this list.
  • Prime Minister: Johnny Briceno
  • Population: 400,031

Belize is a Central American country on the southern border of Mexico. It is the only mainland country still part of the Commonwealth realm and has King Charles III as its monarch. 

The Bahamas

Aerial view: Paradise Island Bridge and Nassau Harbour, New Providence Island, Bahamas.
The Bahamas is made up of 3,000 islands.
  • Prime Minister: Philip Davis
  • Population: 407,906

With over 3,000 islands, The Bahamas is one of the largest island nations in the Caribbean by square miles. Having gained independence from the UK in 1973, it remains part of the Commonwealth realms.

Solomon Islands

Solomon Islands flag waving on sky pink pastel soft cloud with misty mountain landscape.
The Solomon Islands is made up of over 900 smaller islands.
  • Prime Minister: Jeremiah Manele
  • Population: 707,851

The Solomon Islands, located southwest of Australia, consists of six large islands and 900 smaller islands. Having achieved independence in 1975, the Solomon Islands became a constitutional monarchy through King Charles III. 


The Flag of Jamaica on the World Map.
Jamaica relies heavily on tourism for its economy.
  • Prime Minister: Andrew Holness
  • Population: 2,827,695

The third largest Caribbean island, Jamaica, is famous for its beauty and is heavily dependent on tourism. It has been a member of the Commonwealth realm since August 1962. 

New Zealand

Auckland, New Zealand: Aerial view of Auckland downtown district skyline and the Albert park in New Zealand largest city
New Zealand has one of the strongest functioning governments in the world.
  • Prime Minister: Christopher Luxon
  • Population: 5,129,727

A constitutional monarchy, King Charles III is the King of New Zealand and head of state, though his power is limited. With a prime minister, New Zealand is recognized as one of the world’s most stable countries. 

Papua New Guinea

The Flag of Papua New Guinea on the World Map.
Papua New Guinea had three separate rulers before declaring independence.
  • Prime Minister: James Marape
  • Population: 9,949,437

Located in the South Pacific, Papua New Guinea has been ruled by three powers since 1883, only to declare independence in 1975. The country decided to remain a Commonwealth realm. 


A busy morning around the Sydney Opera House,the transportation boat are cruising in front of the famous Sydney landmark
Australia is one of the world’s seven continents.
  • Prime Minister: Anthony Albanese
  • Population: 25,921,089

Both a country and a continent, Australia is the world’s sixth-largest country. The current king, King Charles III, is represented by a governor-general. 


Toronto, Canada aerial view from helicopter
Most of Canada’s population lives near the American border.
  • Prime Minister: Justin Trudeau
  • Population: 38,155,012

Composed of ten provinces and three territories, Canada is one of the world’s largest countries by total area. Canada is a parliamentary democracy and a constitutional monarchy with King Charles III as the sovereign power. 

United Kingdom

Panoramic picture of Buckingham Palace with crowed of visitors in summer with beautiful garden
The United Kingdom is composed of four different countries.
  • Prime Minister: Rishi Sunak
  • Population: 67,281,039

The United Kingdom comprises England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland, and King Charles III is the lone sovereign. It was formed in 1707 and incorporated again between 1800 and 1801. 

To top