Home

 › 

Articles

 › 

How to Unblock Someone on TikTok in 6 Steps

download your data from TikTok

How to Unblock Someone on TikTok in 6 Steps

Nearly every social media platform has some form of blocking feature. Whether you’ve had a disagreement with someone, have an online stalker, or someone is just plain annoying, you can choose to block them. But of course, then, you may want to know how to unblock someone on TikTok later.

If curiosity is getting the better of you, follow the steps below and learn how to unblock someone on TikTok.

How to Unblock Someone on TikTok

TikTok’s unblocking function is great because you don’t have to remember the username or information of anyone you block. Instead of going through that hassle, the platform has a full list in your TikTok settings.

The following steps will walk you through how to find your block list and unblock TikTok users. However, you can’t unblock someone from a web browser. Grab your smartphone or tablet and use the mobile app version of the social media platform.

Note: When you unblock someone, they can see your Profile, videos, comments, and likes (if you don’t have them hidden). They can even see the content you posted while they were blocked, so if you have any rant videos about them, go ahead and set those, so they’re only viewable to you.

Step 1: Go to Your TikTok Profile

The profile icon is at the bottom of the app to the right.

Open TikTok on your smartphone or tablet and tap your Me icon to go to your profile.

Step 2: Tap the Menu Icon

The menu icon has as three-dash line.

You’ll see a few options at the top of your screen. The one furthest to the right looks like three lines. That’s your menu icon. Tap it.

Step 3: Tap Settings & Privacy

Under settings and privacy, you can set your account to private or public.

A small window will appear at the bottom of TikTok. Tap Settings & Privacy in the pop-up menu.

Step 4: Tap Privacy

Under privacy, you can turn your profile view history on or off.

Now you’ll see a list of settings options. Tap Privacy.

Step 5: Tap Blocked Accounts

Under blocked accounts are Tiktok users that can’t view your profile.

Scroll down the Privacy page (almost to the bottom). Select Blocked Accounts.

Step 6: Tap Unblock

Select Unblock to the right of each person you’d like to interact with on TikTok again.

You’ll see every account you blocked on this TikTok page.

We recommend this short video guide that details both how to block and then unblock an account on TikTok, created by Trevor Nace on YouTube.

Note: There isn’t a confirmation pop-up, so you will unblock the other user immediately. However, unlike Facebook, there’s no waiting period to re-block a TikTok user.

What is Blocking on TikTok

Now that you know how to unblock your TikTok friends (or foes – we don’t judge) let’s talk a little about what TikTok’s blocking feature does. Sometimes,

What Happens When You Block Someone on TikTok

TikTok’s blocking feature helps users control who can see and interact with their account activity. When you block someone, they can’t see your videos, like them, comment on them, or send you DMs. They also can’t send you TikTok DMs or tag your account.

Of course, all of this also means that when you block someone, they can’t see your profile. But they can still see past DMs and stitches or duets of your videos.

If you aren’t sure how you blocked someone in the first place, we have a full tutorial here that will teach you how to block another user on TikTok.

How to Know if You Unblocked Someone on TikTok

TikTok lets users mass-block people in the comments section. Perhaps you’re wondering what happened to a friend or want to confirm you unblocked someone on TikTok. Fortunately, you can see every user you’ve blocked by following the Profile>Settings>Privacy>Blocked Users path outlined above.

TikTok Blocking Alternatives

Sometimes, our pride gets the best of us, and we don’t want to give another person the satisfaction of blocking them. While blocking someone is a perfectly acceptable way to keep your peace (after all, you would likely walk away from someone berating you in real life), TikTok does give us a few other moderation methods.

Private Videos

One of the only options to keep your videos from prying eyes is the ability to set who sees them. When you post a video, you can choose to share them with everyone, friends, or only me (meaning, only you).

You can also make your existing videos private by tapping on the three-dot icon on the right side of the video. Then, tap Privacy settings and choose an option.

Content Preferences

Perhaps you didn’t block the person because you wanted to hide your content but rather because you were tired of seeing theirs. Unfortunately, TikTok removed the option to hide accounts (but it may be back because there’s still a setting for it).

However, you may find some useful options in the Content Preferences section. Go to Profile>Settings&Privacy>Content Preferences and try filtering Keywords to keep content with certain words off your FYP and Following page.

You can also enable Restricted Mode, so you don’t have to see illicit content.

Making Other Content Private

TikTok offers other ways to moderate your TikTok videos further. If you don’t want to go through the process of blocking and unblocking someone on TikTok, go to your Profile>Settings&Privacy>Settings to personalize these other privacy options:

  • Comments – This lets you choose who can comment and also filter keywords.
  • Mentions and tags – This limits who can tag you in videos or mention you in comments.
  • Direct Messages – Choose who can send you messages (friends or everyone). You can also disable the Read Status here.
  • Duets, Stitches, and Downloads – You can completely disable duets, stitches, and duets so other people can’t share your videos.
  • Following, Liked Videos, and Post Views – This lets you hide the videos you like, and accounts you follow, and turn off the notification that lets your friends know you watched their video.

All of these options give you a little more control over what other people see and what you have to see. Play around in the Privacy settings a bit, and enjoy more peaceful moments at TikTok.

Now You See Me, TikTok

Blocking and unblocking people on social media is standard practice for those who want peace and control over their interactions. Of course, remember, if you choose to unblock someone, you can block them again anytime. And you may want to change some settings to keep that person from bothering you so much.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I mass unblock people?

No. You can mass-block people in the comment section of a video (up to 100 accounts) by long-pressing each comment and tapping Block. But you can’t do the same to unblock people.

What happens if I block someone after stitching my video?

If someone stitched or duetted one of your videos, a blocked user can still see it. When you post any video on TikTok, go ahead and assume others can share it as they please. Even if you turn off the stitch and duet features, most users simply screen record it and share it anyway. So don’t post anything you don’t want the world to see.

Can people still see my TikTok DMs after I block them?

Yes. People can still see any DMs sent before they were blocked. However, any DMs sent during the block won’t appear.

Will someone know if I block them on TikTok?

TikTok doesn’t tell people you blocked them. But it isn’t hard to tell. When you block someone on TikTok, your entire profile disappears. If you have a mutual friend who hasn’t blocked you, all the offender has to do is ask if your account is still active.

Will someone know if I unblock them?

Yes, but TikTok won’t notify them, and only with exceptions. If you unblock someone, they can see your profile, videos, comments, and DMs. However, if you only unblock them for a moment, they likely will never know.

To top