- There are many reasons why you may want to delete your Twitter account permanently. You may be switching to another social media site, or switching to another user profile, for example.
- After logging in, click settings and the My Account and follow the prompts to deactivate your Twitter account.
- You have 30 days to reactivate your account if you change your mind.
Social media is a tool that most of us use, but it can be grating on our mental health. Whether it’s for peace of mind or you simply want to be free of notifications, deleting your accounts can be a valid option.
For most social media platforms, deleting your account isn’t all that hard. Thankfully, Twitter makes it super easy.
Here’s a step-by-step guide on how to delete your Twitter account permanently. Let’s get started!
4 Steps to Delete Your Twitter Account Permanently
Step 1: Log on to Twitter
The first step to permanently deleting your account is to log into your account. Without account access, it will be nearly impossible to delete your account without getting help from Twitter customer service reps. Whether you’re using your computer or your phone, the process should be relatively the same. To log onto Twitter on your desktop, click here.
Step 2: Access Your Settings
After you have accessed your account, you can go ahead and access your user settings. On a desktop, this is a small button on your sidebar that is represented by three dots. Go ahead and click on these three dots, and a secondary menu should open.
Once you have accessed the secondary menu, go ahead and click or tap the option that reads Settings and Privacy. It should also have a small gear symbol on the front if using a desktop.
Step 3: Select Your Account and the Deactivate Your Account Tab
Once you click on Settings and Privacy, a new page should open up. On this page is a menu with a few breakout options. Click on the menu option that reads Your Account. On a desktop, this option is at the center of the screen.
Once you’ve selected the Your Account menu option, a breakout menu should appear. At the bottom of this menu is the option that reads Deactivate Your Account. Go ahead and click this option.
Step 4: Click Deactivate
Once you click that menu button, a secondary page will open up. This page details everything that will happen once you deactivate your account. Once you’ve read through the details, you can go ahead and click Deactivate. This is found on the bottom of the screen in bright red lettering. Once you click deactivate, your account will be deactivated.
Before deactivating your account, it’s important to know the details associated with your deactivation.
Firstly, if you plan on downloading your data, it will need to be done before your account is deactivated. Additionally, your account will be available for reactivation as long as it’s reactivated within 30 days of the initial deactivation. Also, Twitter will store your account data for some time after your deactivation, although it isn’t clear how long. When Twitter does decide to delete your data, the account and its associated data will be permanently gone.
In this video from NordVPN, you will see how to cancel your Twitter account on Android and iPhone, as well as on desktop.
Deactivating your Twitter account is pretty easy and should only take a minute or two. The biggest things to remember are as follows:
- Twitter gives you 30 days to reactivate if you change your mind.
- Your data isn’t available for download if your account is deactivated.
- Your data isn’t permanently gone until Twitter removes it from its servers. Twitter doesn’t publically confirm any hard timelines as to how long that takes.
Enjoy your Twitter-free life!