- Tiktok will let you reactivate your account during a 30-day period from the date you delete your account.
- Once the 30-day period is up, you will no longer be able to reactivate your account.
- Tiktok will not allow you to receive refunds on any purchases you have made or received.
As enthralling as social media can be, sometimes you need to take a break. If TikTok is your platform of choice, there are measures in place to help, although you may wonder how to delete a TikTok account permanently.
Our guide will tell you how to accomplish that in a few steps or access built-in features that can help limit your screen time. Let’s jump in!
How to Delete Your TikTok Account from a PC
You can delete TikTok in one of two ways: through a web browser or by opening up the official app. If you’ve already uninstalled the TikTok app, you can still delete your account from the web by following these steps.
1. Log In
Log in at TikTok.com and complete any verification steps required to access your account.
2. Access Your Profile
To get to your profile, look in the top right corner and hover over the profile icon to bring up the sub-menu. You can view your full profile or access settings from here. Click on Settings to proceed to Account Management.
3. Manage Account
From this screen, you can set your account to private, clear data, or delete TikTok. The account deletion option is at the top of the page, and when you click to delete, a pop-up screen should appear like the one below.
4. Confirm Cancellation
This is your last chance to back out if you would prefer to take a break and not permanently delete your TikTok account. When you’re ready to cancel, simply click on the Continue button at the bottom right of the pop-up.
5. Verify and Continue
Depending on how you signed up, you may need to take an additional step here. In this case, we had to log into the Google account associated with our TikTok account. After a few clicks, you’ll see another confirmation prompt for deletion. Once you click this, your account is deleted and you are logged out of the service.
Now you’ve successfully deleted your Tiktok account on your PC!
How to Delete TikTok Account from a Smartphone or Tablet
The TikTok smartphone app is available for Android and iOS. It’s consistently found at the top of the charts on the app stores, and deleting TikTok accounts from mobile is just as easy as removing it using a PC.
1. Open the App
Open the app and log in to the account you want to delete from TikTok.
2. Go to Profile
When you’re logged into the TikTok account you want to delete, it’s time to access your profile. On the web, it’s on the top right of the page. On a mobile, you’ll want to tap the profile section at the bottom right of your screen.
3. Access Settings and Privacy
After tapping on your profile icon, you’re taken to a new menu where you must tap on the three dashes in the top right to pull up a sub-menu. This opens up two new options with Creator Tools and Settings and Privacy, which is where you can delete your account.
4. Manage Account
From the Settings and Privacy screen in the TikTok mobile app, select Manage Accounts at the top under the Account section.
5. Select Delete TikTok Account
This is where you can deactivate or delete your TikTok account. When you tap on that option, you are taken to a screen asking why you want to leave which will start the cancellation process for your TikTok account.
6. Deleting TikTok
Once you press delete, you’ll need to go through a series of screens to reach your goal. They will ask you why you want to leave before prompting you to save your data. When complete, you have to confirm account deletion one more time and verify it before your account is marked for deletion.
Congratulations! You’ve now successfully deleted your Tiktok account permanently on mobile. To see just how the process works check out the video below. It also includes information on how to get your account back if you change your mind within 30 days of deleting it.
Digital Wellbeing with TikTok
There is another way to take a break if you don’t want to delete your TikTok account from your PC, smartphone, or tablet. Through the company’s Digital Wellbeing settings, you can adjust a number of settings or check usage statistics.
Want to set a screen time break for TikTok? That’s an option, and one you can adjust from 5 minutes to an hour. You can also set up TikTok to send notifications to let you know if you’ve exceeded your daily time limit. It’s a handy feature that can help you take a break if you love the service but feel like you may be spending too much time on the platform.
To access TikTok’s Digital Wellbeing settings, go to Profile and open the Settings and Privacy section by tapping on the icon in the upper right corner. From the new screen, select Digital Wellbeing from the Content & Activity section of the Settings menu.
Interested in similar articles? Click on the links below:
- How to See All Your Google Activity And Delete It Forever: Although large tech companies seem to be able to peer into everyone’s private lives, you have a measure of control. Find out how to exert it here.
- How to Delete Your Reddit Account Permanently: Have you decided to walk away from Reddit and feel a clean break is best? Find out how to delete your account for good.
- How to Delete Instagram Messages Permanently: Do you wish to delete a single message or an entire conversation? The procedure has been outlined here.
The image featured at the top of this post is ©Kaspars Grinvalds/Shutterstock.com.