- You may wish to delete your YouTube account if you do not want to use it anymore or are switching profiles or platforms.
- You can temporarily or permanently delete your YouTube account.
- Permanent deletion is reversible, and you can restore it if you change your mind.
YouTube is the largest video-sharing platform in the world. You can upload your videos and make money from them, and you have access to a variety of other features, such as live streams and subscriptions.
However, if you have created an account on YouTube but do not want to use it anymore, then you can delete your account permanently. This will ensure that no one will be able to view your videos or subscribe to any of your channels.
This guide will show you a step-by-step process of how to delete your YouTube account permanently. Let’s jump in!
3 Things to Know Before You Delete Your YouTube Account
If you’ve been thinking about deleting your YouTube account, there’s no need to rush into it. Before you close your account, consider these three things first.
- If you delete your YouTube account, your channel will be deleted immediately. However, if you’re not ready to let go of your channel, you can temporarily deactivate your account.
- After you delete your account, you won’t be able to reactivate that account later on.
- All your videos and video statistics will be removed from your channel page.
Suppose you want to keep your videos on YouTube and stop using the account. In that case, we recommend you deactivate the account instead of deleting it. Deactivating an account puts it in a paused state and hides most of its features.
Steps to Delete Your YouTube Accounts
Step 1: Sign in to YouTube
The first step to deleting your YouTube account is to log in to your account. Head over to the YouTube website and click the Sign In button if you’re not signed in already. Select the account you want to delete if you have more than one account.
Once you’re signed into your account, click your profile photo in the top righthand corner of the screen. This will bring up a drop-down menu with options for managing your account. Select Settings at the bottom of this list.
Step 2: Go to Youtube’s Advanced Account Settings
Once you’re on the Account Settings page, you’ll find a link in the bottom-left corner that says Advanced settings. Clicking this link will take you to a new page with more settings and options.
Step 3: Delete Your YouTube Account
Now it’s time to delete your account. Scroll down until you see the Delete channel section, which should be near the middle of the page. Click the button, and this will take you to a new window where you can confirm your decision.
Step 4: Permanently Delete Your Channel
On this page, you can choose to hide your YouTube account or delete it completely. Hiding your channel is the same as deactivating it. Your channel name, likes, videos, and subscriptions are hidden when you hide your channel, and subscribers will become private. This can be reversed by re-activating your YouTube account whenever you wish.
Next, scroll down and click on Permanently delete my content. The next page will ask if you want to delete the channel. click Confirm deletion, then enter your password again just as you did when signing into YouTube. Click confirm and then click Delete channel permanently.
How to Delete Your YouTube Account on iOS or Android
Deleting your YouTube account from an iPhone or Android device is similar to deleting it on your computer. Instead of using your desktop browser, you can use your mobile browser.
Follow these steps:
- Go to youtube.com and tap on your profile picture or initials in the top righthand corner.
- Click on Manage your Google Account.
- From there, follow steps 2 through 4 above.
What Happens to Your Content After You Delete Your YouTube Account?
When you delete your YouTube account, your videos will be removed from the site.
If you’ve followed the steps to deactivate your account, all your videos will be archived and hidden from the YouTube algorithm. If you return to YouTube later and reactivate your account, all of your videos will also be restored.
However, if you delete your account permanently, there’s no way to recover deleted content. So, if you want to permanently remove all of your videos from YouTube without losing them completely, it’s better to deactivate your account rather than delete it.
YouTube is a great place to share videos and connect with other people. But sometimes, you might want to delete your YouTube account. Maybe you don’t need it anymore, or it’s a duplicate of an account you’ve already created. Whatever your reason, deleting your YouTube account is a simple process.
It’s important to know that when you delete your channel, all your videos will be removed from YouTube. So, it’s best to back up your videos if you change your mind later on.
- How to Update AirPods Pro
- How To Connect AirPods To Chromebook
- How to Clear YouTube History, Step by Step with Photos