© In Green/Shutterstock.com

If you have one too many email accounts, it may be time to downsize. Keep reading to learn the super simple steps to delete a Gmail account.

What Happens When You Delete a Gmail Account?

Deleting a Gmail account permanently erases all emails and account settings. The account will not be available for correspondence, nor will the email address be made available for future use. The Google account attached to the Gmail address will remain, but Google will require the provided alternate email address for all future logins.

The full process takes around 2 months to finalize, including a month-long recovery period. If you change your mind during this time, there is a chance you can still recover your Gmail account and data for a short while. However, recovery is not guaranteed, so be sure you are truly finished with an account before deleting it.

How to Delete a Gmail Account

Step 1. Sign in to Gmail.

Sign in to the Gmail account you want to delete.

Delete gmail
Log into your Gmail account.

Step 2. Open Google Apps.

Look for a grid icon in the upper right corner. Click on it to open a drop-down menu. On the first row to the left, you’ll see Account. Click on it and it will open a new page with your Google Account settings.

delete gmail
Open Google apps from the grid icon in the upper right-hand corner.

Step 3. Select Data & Privacy.

Look for the Data & Privacy option on the left sidebar menu and click on it.

delete gmail
Select Data & privacy.

Step 4. Click Data from apps and services you use.

It will be under Your data and privacy options near the lower middle of the screen.

delete gmail
Click Data from apps and services you use.

Step 5. Click Delete a Google service.

Look for the Download or delete your data box and it should be the second option down. Google may prompt you to sign in again for verification purposes.

delete gmail
Click on Delete a Google service.

Step 6. Delete Gmail.

On the Delete a Google service page, you’ll see all active Google services for your chosen account. Look for Gmail, then hit the delete button beside it (it’s the small trash can icon).

delete gmail
Click on the trash bin icon next to Gmail.

Step 7. Enter an alternate email address.

Google will ask for an alternate email address, but it has to be a non-Gmail address. Be sure to use one you have access to, as you will have to confirm account deletion through the alternate email provided.

Click Send Verification Email once you’re done.

Sign in to the alternate email you entered in the step above. Once you’ve located the email from Google, click on the link to finalize the deletion process. Google may prompt you to log in to the Gmail account you are trying to delete.

Step 10. Confirm deletion.

Select Yes, I want to delete [email protected]. Click Delete Gmail one more time, and then Done.

A tedious process, but you’re finished!

For those that use Gmail through work or school, you’ll need to contact your administrator. The administrator of the account is the only one who can delete it.

Final Thoughts

Deleting a Gmail account only takes a few minutes and can be a massive weight off your shoulders in the end! Remember that deleting your Gmail account means you will lose all access, and it’s not guaranteed you’ll be able to recover your account within the first month after deletion, so be sure you’re absolutely certain you want to delete it.

How to Delete a Gmail Account (with Photos) FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions) 

What happens when you delete a Gmail account?

All email and mail settings are permanently deleted. The email address will no longer send or receive emails, nor will it become available for future use. You will no longer be able to log in to accounts and apps that verify through the Gmail address in question unless you have other forms of login verification.

The Google account attached to the Gmail address will still exist but will require an alternate email address to log in.

Is removing a Gmail account the same as deleting it?

Removing a Gmail account from a device logs out the user and removes the address from the list of accounts. Gmail will require login credentials to access the account again.

Deleting a Gmail account permanently deletes all emails and account settings. The email address will no longer receive or send emails, nor will it become available again in the future.

How long after deleting a Gmail account can it be recovered?

Google says that the full deletion process takes up to 2 months to finalize. This includes a one-month recovery period, but recovery is not always guaranteed. It’s recommended to back up your information and contacts before deleting an account.

Does deleting Gmail delete the Google account?

No, deleting a Gmail account does not delete the associated Google account. The Google account will remain active but is only accessible through logging in with the alternate email provided in the deletion process.

Check out how to delete a Google account for a step-by-step breakdown.

About the Author

Follow Me On:

LinkedIn Logo

More from History-Computer

  • Cybernews Available here: https://cybernews.com/secure-email-providers/how-to-delete-a-gmail-account/
  • Today Available here: https://www.today.com/money/how-delete-gmail-account-google-account-t138128
  • USA Today Available here: https://www.usatoday.com/story/tech/2022/01/10/how-to-delete-gmail-account/9094750002/
  • Google Account Help Available here: https://support.google.com/accounts/answer/32046?hl=en
  • Google Account Help Available here: https://support.google.com/accounts/answer/61177?hl=en&co=GENIE.Platform%3DDesktop