Home

 › 

Articles

 › 

How To Block Someone On Venmo: Step By Step With Photos

venmo account

How To Block Someone On Venmo: Step By Step With Photos

Venmo is a great way to send and receive money. But unlike other payment services, the digital wallet has more of a social media vibe. If you’re probably wondering, “How do you block someone on Venmo?”, we’ve got the answers. May be you don’t want someone to see to who you’re sending money, or don’t want unnecessary money requests. No matter your reasons, we’ve outlined the steps to block someone on Venmo below.

What happens When You Block Someone on Venmo?

Venmo is a bit different than other payment platforms. Anytime you send someone money, other contacts see the transaction. Your contacts can easily request money and send you some in return. If you don’t want a specific Venmo user to interact with, you can easily block them. Here’s basically what blocking someone on Venmo actually does:

  • Blocked user can no longer see your Venmo profile
  • They can’t request or send money anymore
  • Your profile will no longer appear in their searches or Venmo feed
  • They can’t block your Venmo account
  • The user won’t know they are blocked. It’ll appear as though you deleted your Venmo account.
  • They cannot see your username or notes of previous transactions, except the amount paid and date.

Blocking on Venmo works like most other platforms. The blocked user can’t see your account, your profile information or transactions. It’ll appear as though you’ve deleted your account. The only way they’ll know they’ve been blocked is if they search for you using someone else’s Venmo account.

Note: If someone is harassing you, running a scam, or violating Venmo’s T&Cs, you can report them.

How to Block Someone on Venmo on the Mobile App

We’ll start with the Venmo Mobile app. Fortunately, the instructions are the same for iOS and Android users. If you have your smartphone or tablet handy and you’ve already installed Venmo, you can sign into your account and follow these steps:

Note: Log out of Venmo after blocking the user. Otherwise, the instructions won’t work.

Step 1: Locate the Venmo User You Want to Block

Scroll down the main page and select the person you want to block Venmo.

Search for the Venmo user you want to block.

Note: You can also use the search bar at the top to type their name.

Step 2: Tap the Three-Dot Menu Icon

After locating the person’s profile, tap the three-dot menu icon in the top right corner.

Tap the 3-dot menu to reveal more options.

Step 3: Tap Block

Finally, you’ll see the Block button. Tap it and confirm you no longer want to interact with this Venmo user.

Scroll down and tap Block to stop another user from sending you money.

Step 4: Log Out of Venmo

Lastly, as stated above, you must log out of Venmo for the block to work. Tap the Me icon at the lower right. Then, tap the settings cog in the top right.

Sign out of your Venmo account.

Scroll all the way down the page and tap Sign Out of Venmo.

To see a visual representation of these steps check out the video below which walks you through the process.

How to Block Someone on Venmo on the Web Browser

Perhaps blocking someone on Venmo is a little more practical for you on a web browser. If so, open your favorite web browser and head to the Venmo website. Then, sign into your account and perform these steps to block someone:

Note: You must log out of the website and log back into your account for the actions below to take effect.

Step 1: Click the Search Option

When you log into Venmo, you’ll see a Search option in the menu to the left. Click Search.

Click the Search link on the left of your screen.

Note: You can also scroll down the main page and click the Venmo user you want to block.

Step 2: Click on the Venmo User You Want to Block

There’s a search bar at the top of this window. Type the person’s name you want to block on Venmo. When the person’s name appears, click it.

Enter the Venmo username, business, or name of the person or entity you would like to block.

Step 3: Click the Three-Dot Menu Icon

At this point, you’ll see a three-dot menu icon in the top right corner. Click the menu icon.

Tap the 3-dot meno on the top-left of your screen.

Step 4: Click Block

A small pop-up will appear with the Block option. Click Block.

Click Block.

Step 5: Log Out of Venmo

Like the instructions above for the mobile app, you must log out of your Venmo account. Scroll down the left-side menu and click Log Out.

Scroll down and click Log out.

Then, you can log back in, and the user won’t see your account or transactions anymore.

How to Find Who You Blocked on Venmo

Now that you’ve successfully learned how to block someone on Venmo, it’s time to double-check that they’re on your Blocked List. We’ll show how to ensure that person is blocked from sending/receiving money and seeing your account.

Here’s how to double-check that the person is blocked on Venmo:

Step 1: Go to Your Profile

Mobile app users can tap the Me icon in the lower left corner.

Tap the Me icon.

Step 2: Tap Settings

Tap the settings cog in the top right corner of the Venmo app.

Tap on the gear icon as shown.

Note: If you’re using the web browser, head to your profile by clicking Settings>Privacy.

Step 3: Tap Privacy

Scroll through the list and tap Privacy.

Privacy is under your Account settings.

Step 4: Tap Blocked Users

This part is a bit self-explanatory. Tap the Blocked Users option near the bottom. Then, verify that the Venmo user you blocked appears in the list.

Under Blocker Users, you can find everyone you have blocked.

Note: If you want to unblock someone on Venmo, you can do so from this page.

So Long, Venmo Foes

Hopefully, you now know how to block someone on Venmo. We encourage you to do some due diligence to ensure it sticks. Check your blocked list for their name by following the steps in the last section of this article.

No matter your reason for blocking people, it’s a great feature and gives you a little peace of mind plus privacy. So, if someone’s bothering you, just follow the steps above to block them.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I make my Venmo payments private?

Yes! If you go to your Venmo Settings (see steps above to find it), tap Privacy. Then, tap Payments and change from Friends to Everyone.

How do I report someone on Venmo?

Sometimes you need to take a few additional steps to protect yourself and other Venmo users. Fortunately, you can report another Venmo user. Follow the steps above to block someone on Venmo in the mobile app. But instead of tapping Block, tap the Report option and fill out the forms.

How do I unblock someone on Venmo?

Did you and your friend make up? We hope so. If you want to unblock them, follow the steps above to view your blocked list. Then, tap the option to Unblock. Although you may need to log out and back in again, your old foe will quickly become your new friend on Venmo again.

How will someone know I blocked them on Venmo?

The only way the person will know for sure that you blocked them is if your account still appears on another Venmo account they use to search for you.

If I block someone on Venmo, can they block me back?

No. The blocked user can’t find your account, so they won’t have the option to block you.

To top