Home

 › 

Articles

 › 

How to Block Someone On PayPal in 3 Steps (With Photos)

paypal mobile smartphone

How to Block Someone On PayPal in 3 Steps (With Photos)

You may have a reason to block suspicious people from PayPal, such as preventing someone from sending you money, or to prevent someone from finding you in the PayPal directory. All of these reasons are valid; whatever your reason, it’s easy to block someone from PayPal.

It only takes a minute of your time, but it can save you a lot of trouble. Below we’ll show you how to block someone on PayPal both on the web and in the app, so read on!

How to Block Someone on PayPal on the Web

Blocking someone on PayPal on the web is easy. If you need to block someone on PayPal, you shouldn’t hesitate. Instead, follow these steps to quickly add the person to your block list so they don’t interfere with your use of PayPal.

Step 1: Log In to Your PayPal Account

The first step is to log in to your PayPal account. You can do that by visiting the official PayPal website and clicking on the “Log In” button. Fill in the necessary information and you’ll be logged into your account in seconds.

Block someone PayPal
Click on “Log In” in the upper right-hand side of the screen.

Step 2: Click on the Send and Request Option

From there, you don’t have to go to the settings, but to the “Send” or “Send and Request” tab on PayPal to block your contacts. This is probably one of the reasons why most people almost never figure out how to block someone by searching for it themselves.

Block someone PayPal
Click on “Send” or “Send and Request” from the tab at the top of the screen, then select “Contacts.”

Step 3: Block Contact

Under Contacts, you’ll find the name of the person you want to block. If you don’t find the person’s name there, you can enter it in the search bar. Also, try to find them by their email address or phone number if you have access to it.

When you find the contact you want to block, there will be a button that says “Block this contact.” Once you press this button, you’ll have to confirm twice that you want to block the person. After the final confirmation, the person will be blocked and won’t be able to find you on PayPal or send you money, payment requests, or invoices.

Block someone PayPal
Tap “Block this contact” at the bottom of the screen, then follow the prompts to complete the process.

How to Block Someone on the PayPal App

It’s also important to know that you can block someone not only through the web, but also through the PayPal app. Using the PayPal app is much easier for many, as you can use your smartphone instead of having to access a computer or laptop. Here’s how to use the PayPal app to block someone.

If you don’t have the PayPal app, you should download it from App Store or Google Play. Then log in to your account using your email address (or phone number) and password. Once you’re logged in to your PayPal account in the app, go to the Payments section.

In the Payments section, click on “All Contacts.” This will list the names of everyone you’ve had contact with through PayPal. You can scroll through the list and when you find the person you want to block, click on the three dots next to their name. An option to block the person will appear. Tap the “Block” button and confirm it by clicking it again in the pop-up window.

Once you do that, the person will be blocked and you won’t have to worry about them having access to you on PayPal.

Block someone PayPal
Tap “Block” at the bottom of the pop-up, then follow the on-screen prompts.

Can You Unblock Someone on PayPal? How?

Yes, it’s possible to unblock someone you have blocked on PayPal. Whether it was an accident or you want to reverse your decision to block him, the first thing to do is log in to your PayPal account.

There, go to the Send and Requests section and click Contacts. At the bottom of Contacts, you’ll find a button labeled “View Blocked Contacts.” This will open a separate contact list that contains only your blocked PayPal contacts. When you find a blocked person you want to unblock, simply click the “Unblock” button next to their name. Confirm the unblocking twice and the person will be unblocked.

Conclusion

Sometimes you have no choice but to block someone on PayPal, and luckily PayPal has a feature built in to help you do that. This way you can prevent unwanted interactions with people on PayPal that you don’t want to have anything to do with.

Remember, though, that even if you block someone, you can still be reported. So, if there are problems with money, it’s always best to open a dispute and resolve it with PayPal’s help. Otherwise, sometimes it’s just easier to block someone and continue undisturbed.

For a quick refresher of what you’ve just learnt check out the video below which walks you through the process of blocking and unblocking someone on PayPal.

Frequently Asked Questions

Why would you block someone on PayPal?

Blocking someone on PayPal will prevent them from sending you money, requesting money, or invoicing you. It will also prevent them from finding you in the PayPal directory if they have your email or phone number.

Will people get notified if you block them?

No, PayPal won’t notify people you’ve blocked.

Is there a waiting period before you can unblock someone on PayPal?

No, there is no waiting period and you can block/unblock people as needed.

Can you know who blocked you on PayPal?

No, you can’t know if someone blocked you on PayPal. However, if you know someone’s email address, and you know that they use PayPal but you can’t find them, it’s possible they blocked you. However, glitches and bugs happen, so this might not be the case every time.

Should you take any steps before blocking someone on PayPal?

If you’re having a dispute with someone over money or a certain transaction, it’s a good idea to allow PayPal to step in by opening a dispute to help solve the matter.

To top