Home

 › 

How-to

 › 

How to Block and Unblock Users in Threads

Reasons Threads Is Better Than Twitter

How to Block and Unblock Users in Threads

Key Points

  • Blocking someone on Threads prevents them from finding your profile, stories, or posts, and stops notifications and interactions with them.
  • You can block users on Threads if they are harassing you, spamming your posts, or if you no longer want to connect with them.
  • There are three methods to block users on Threads: using the home feed, using the comments section, or blocking a user you already follow.
  • To unblock a user on Threads, go to your profile, access the App Settings, open your Instagram account, and click the unblock button.

Threads is a new social media app from Meta that’s taking the world by storm. However, like other social media platforms, you may want to take steps to keep yourself safe and protected online.

Luckily, Threads has features that let you block and unblock users so you can control who can see your profile and content. In this article, we’ll show you how to block and unblock users in very simple steps.

Let’s break down what you need to know below.

Why Block Users on Threads?

Blocking someone on Threads makes it so they can’t find your profile, stories, or posts. It also means that you’ll stop getting notifications about that person and you won’t see their posts or be able to interact with them in any way. When they search for your profile, it won’t come up in the search results, either.

Usually, you’ll block people because they’re harassing you, spamming your posts, or it’s simply someone you no longer wish to connect with anymore. Blocking is a great way to control who can see your content and help you protect your privacy while using the app. When you block a user, it’ll also block any future accounts that person creates.

How to Block and Unblock Users in Threads: Step-by-Step Guide

Below you’ll learn how you can block and unblock users on Threads in a few simple methods.

Method #1: Using the Home Feed

Step 1: Log in to the Threads App

The first thing you need to do is log in to the Threads app. Since Threads is connected to Instagram, you’ll be logging in with your Instagram account. This can help manage your blocked users, as you’ll learn below. Simply click on your username to log in.

How to Block and Unblock Users in Threads
First, you’ll need to log in to Threads.

Step 2: Mute, Hide, or Block Users From Your Home Feed

Once you log in to the app, you’ll be taken to your home feed. From your feed, find the person you would like to block. Now, click the three dots next to the person’s post and choose the Block option among your choices of Mute, Hide, or Block.

Selecting the Hide option will hide that post from your feed while selecting the Mute option will essentially stop that user’s posts from appearing in your feed. Think of this as a way to block their content from showing up for you.

How to Block and Unblock Users in Threads
Select the Block option.

Method #2: Using the Comments Section

Another way to block someone is to block them directly from the comments section. This can be done on one of your posts or even the post from the person you want to block.

All you need to do is click the three dots next to the comment of the user you want to block, then click the Block button.

This user will automatically be added to your block list. Now, whenever they leave a comment anywhere, even on a user that you both still follow, you’ll never see it.

How to Block and Unblock Users in Threads
Click Block from the three dots next to the person’s comment.

Method #3: Blocking a User You Already Follow

If you know the username of a user that you want to block, then all you need to do is search for and open up their profile. Click the three dots in the right-hand corner of the screen. Then, select Block at the bottom of the screen. This will automatically block the user and add them to your blocked list.

How to Block and Unblock Users in Threads
Click on the three dots to access the menu.

How to Unblock a Blocked User on Threads

To manage your blocked users, you’ll need to go to your profile and click on the two lines in the upper right-hand corner of the screen. This will bring you to your App Settings.

How to Block and Unblock Users in Threads
Click on the two lines.

After that, click the Privacy option.

How to Block and Unblock Users in Threads
Click Privacy.

Next, click the Blocked profiles menu option and this will open your Instagram account.

After that, simply click the Unblock button to unblock a user and give them access to your posts and profile again. Since Instagram and Threads are connected, any user you block or unblock on Instagram will also be blocked on Threads.

How to Block and Unblock Users in Threads
Go to your Blocked accounts list and click Unblock next to the person you would like to not have blocked anymore.

Wrapping Up

It’s pretty simple to block and unblock users in Threads. Learning how to do this is an important part of using Threads and keeping yourself safe from unwanted users, spam, and comments on the app. Plus, you always have full control over who follows you and you can always unblock users in the future.

Summary Table

MethodSteps
Method #1: Using the Home Feed1. Log in to the Threads App2. Mute, Hide, or Block Users From Your Home Feed
Method #2: Using the Comments SectionBlock them directly from the comments section on one of your posts or the post from the person you want to block.
Method #3: Blocking a User You Already FollowSearch for and open up their profile. Click the in the right-hand corner of the screen. Then, select at the bottom of the screen. This will automatically block the user and add them to your blocked list.
Unblocking a Blocked User on ThreadsGo to your profile and click on the in the upper right-hand corner of the screen. This will bring you to your App Settings. After that, click the option. Next, click the menu option and this will open your Instagram account. After that, simply click the button to unblock a user and give them access to your posts and profile again.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the purpose of blocking users on Threads?

Blocking users on Threads helps protect your online privacy by preventing specific users from finding your profile, viewing your posts, or interacting with you on the platform. You’ll typically use this when users are harassing, spamming, or giving you unwanted attention.

Can you review your list of blocked users?

Yes, you can review your list of blocked users on Threads. When you open the Settings, you’ll actually be taken to Instagram, where you’ll manage your blocked users for both platforms.

Will blocking or unblocking a user on Instagram have the same effect on Threads?

Yes, blocking or unblocking a user on Instagram has the same effect on Threads. Since Threads and Instagram are interconnected, any user you block or unblock on one platform will also be blocked or unblocked on the other.

What's the difference between muting, hiding, and blocking a user on Threads?

Muting a user on Threads will stop their posts from appearing in your feed but won’t prevent them from seeing your content or profile. Hiding a user will only remove their posts from your feed. Blocking a user prevents them from finding your profile, viewing your posts, or interacting with you in any way.

How do you know if someone blocked you on Threads?

If someone has blocked you on Threads, you won’t be able to find their profile, view their stories, or see their posts. Your comments and likes will also disappear from their content. However, Threads doesn’t notify you when you’re blocked by another user.

To top