Home

 › 

Products

 › 

Reviews

 › 

My Job Is Reviewing Tech, and Here Is My Honest Opinion About Ring Floodlight Cameras

My Job Is Reviewing Tech, and Here Is My Honest Opinion About Ring Floodlight Cameras

Key Points

  • Ring Floodlight Cameras were launched in 2017 and have since become popular in the market.
  • The cameras are available in two models: Cam Plus and Cam Pro, each with wired and plug-in variations.
  • Key features of the Ring Floodlight Cameras include high-quality video and audio, easy installation, remote-activated siren, and control through the Ring app.
  • The cameras do not have a built-in battery, have limited Wi-Fi connectivity options, and require a subscription for certain features.
  • Overall, the Ring Floodlight Cameras are recommended for their reliable performance, but other options may be more affordable or offer specific features.

As a tech lover, I get goosebumps whenever I run into a product for the first time. You can imagine my excitement when I attended a housewarming party as a plus-one and saw a Ring Floodlight Camera up close for the first time. Given that we arrived slightly earlier than the rest, I wasted no time asking some questions about the cameras. It also took a lot of self-restraint not to whip out my phone and snap a few photos. Either way, I knew I had just found the next gadget to obsess over. Well, here is my honest review of the Ring Floodlight Cameras.

Ring Floodlight Camera Overview

Below is some general information about Ring Floodlight Cameras.

Release Date and Price

Ring LLC was among the first companies to launch floodlight home security cameras in 2017. The new product performed better than expected, creating a niche market for Ring and other pioneering companies. Ring launched two upgrades of the floodlight cam in April and May 2021: Ring Floodlight Cam Plus and Ring Floodlight Cam Pro. The Cam Plus had a starting price of $199.99, while the Cam Pro was $249.99.

Best-Selling Floodlight Cam
Ring Floodlight Cam Wired Plus
$199.99
  • Motion-activated LED floodlights
  • Color night vision
  • 105dB security siren
  • 1080p video with two-way talk
  • Features customizable motion zones
  • Compatible with Alexa
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
01/21/2024 12:34 am GMT
Advanced Security Features
Ring Floodlight Cam Wired Pro
$249.99
  • Bird's eye view
  • 3D motion detection
  • 1080p HD security camera with motion-activated LED floodlights
  • Two-way talk and Audio+
  • Built-in 110 dB security siren
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
01/21/2024 12:28 am GMT

Different Models

Ring Floodlight Cameras are currently available in two models: Cam Plus and Cam Pro. Each model has two variations: wired and plug-in. Though priced differently, the models have many similarities, with only a few differences.

Ring manufactures other types of outdoor security cameras, including stick-up and spotlight cams. However, the floodlight cameras are among the best-performing products in its catalog.

Real-Time Notifications
Ring Floodlight Cam Plus with Plug-In Mount
$219.98
  • Comes with plug-in adapter
  • 1080p video with live view
  • Color night vision
  • Features two-way talk
  • Motion detection and alerts with siren
  • Compatible with Alexa
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
01/21/2024 12:34 am GMT
Next-Level Security
Ring Floodlight Cam Pro Plug-In Power
$269.98
  • Includes a plug-in adapter
  • Bird’s eye view and noise reduction
  • Motion-activated LED floodlights with 3D motion detection
  • 1080p HDR video
  • Built-in 110 dB security siren
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
01/21/2024 12:34 am GMT

Product Specifications

SpecificationRing Floodlight Cam PlusRing Floodlight Cam Pro
VariationsPlus Plug-In
Wired Plus
Pro Plug-In
Wired Pro
Video resolution1080p HD
Color night vision
1080p HD with HDR
Color night vision
Maximum field of viewHorizontal: 140°
Vertical: 80° 
Horizontal: 140°
Vertical: 80° 
Audio capabilitiesSupports two-way communication
Noise cancellation
Supports two-way communication
Advanced noise cancellation
Echo cancelation
ConnectivitySupports Wi-Fi at 2.4GHz.Supports Wi-Fi at 2.4GHz and 5.0GHz
Floodlight brightness2,000 Lumens2,000 Lumens
Bird’s eye viewNoYes

What I Liked About the Ring Floodlight Camera

Home security cameras serve the same primary purpose: reinforce your home’s security and safety. The second most important role would be to store video footage for future review. However, the difference between any two security cameras is how well they fulfill these roles. Ring Floodlight Cameras offer additional utilities like color night vision and two-way audio support. Below are some standout features of Ring Floodlight Cameras.

Video and Audio Quality

The Ring Floodlight Camera has a 1080p video quality. The Cam Pro model has HDR, which offers even better clarity than the Cam Plus. This should give you a clear view when live streaming on your phone. As we noted, they also have a wide field of view and color night vision. However, you may not be able to see tiny details, especially when observing distant objects.

Another perk is the Ring Floodlight Camera supports two-way audio. It also has a noise-cancellation feature, which reduces surrounding noise during conversations.

Mounting on Walls or Ceilings

Most manufacturers design security cameras to be installed on walls or ceilings, but never both. As such, you must decide where to install the security camera before buying it.

The Ring Floodlight Camera is easy to install and requires very little, if any, prior experience with security cameras. The product package has everything you need to mount and connect the camera. You should find the following accessories in the box:

  • Ring Floodlight Camera
  • User manual
  • Terminal block
  • Variety of screws for different electrical boxes
  • Security camera sticker
  • Screwdriver and other installation tools
  • Foam gasket and mounting plate
  • Mounting bracket

The only accessory you may need to buy separately is a standard four-inch round electrical box. Alternatively, you can buy the plug-in variations. You simply mount the camera and plug it into an outlet.

Remote-Activated Siren

Ring Floodlight Cameras have a siren to deter intruders. It supports remote activation, meaning you can trigger the siren even when you’re away from home. I didn’t test the siren, but Ring claims it has a sound intensity of 105db when measured at four inches. At that level, however, the siren is loud enough to alert your neighbors if you live in an apartment or condo.

Using the Ring App

Another thing I liked is that the Ring app gives you total control over your Ring cameras. This includes customizing the motion zones, triggering the siren, and adjusting the floodlights’ brightness. It also has an SOS button, which allows you to request assistance during emergencies like fires, accidents, or burglaries.

Homeowners can connect with their neighbors through the Ring app. When signing up, the app will request your home address. It uses your location to connect you with other Ring users in your area. You can also access your neighborhood’s feed for real-time updates about public interest issues like burglaries and other emergencies.

Side-by-side screenshots of the Ring app dashboard and set-up page.
The Ring app allows you to control your security cameras remotely.

Warranty and Lifetime Theft Protection

Most electronics, including security cameras, include a manufacturer’s warranty. However, the warranty conditions often favor the manufacturers more than the buyers. This is not the case with the Ring Floodlight Cameras. Ring covers repair or replacement costs from manufacturing defects up to one year after buying a floodlight cam. They go the extra mile and cover the replacement part for up to 90 days or until the end of the initial warranty period (whichever comes first).

However, the most amazing part about Ring’s product warranty is its theft replacement policy. Ring offers to replace any stolen floodlight camera for free. However, you must report the theft to the police and take pictures of the scene. You must also submit a copy of the police report and the pictures to Ring through its website. Ring will replace the stolen cameras for free within 14 days of verifying the claim.

What I Did Not Like About the Ring Floodlight Camera

The Ring floodlight camera is one of the best of its kind, but it is not perfect. Below are my main concerns with the Ring Floodlight Cameras.

It Does Not Have a Built-In Battery

I was disappointed that the Ring Floodlight Camera has no built-in battery. You must hardwire the camera to an outlet to power it. Not having a battery also means you cannot connect the camera directly to a solar panel. This was disappointing, considering Ring has solar-powered cameras in its catalog. I expected the Ring Floodlight Camera to be solar-powered to cushion consumers against high power bills.

It Has Limited Wi-Fi Connectivity Options

Internet connectivity is a huge decision point when discussing “smart” devices. We all want a device that connects seamlessly with our home Wi-Fi. Cellular network connectivity is usually a bonus. It was disappointing that Ring Floodlight Cameras support only two WLAN frequencies.

The Pro model connects to the 2.4GHz and 5.0GHz Wi-Fi frequencies. However, the Plus model only connects to the 2.4 GHz frequency. This means it may be incompatible with your home Wi-Fi.

You Need a Subscription to Save Footage to Review Later

Undoubtedly, Ring has one of the best security camera apps. As we mentioned, the app gives you complete control over the cameras even when you’re not home. However, you must pay for the Ring Protect Subscription Plan to access meaningful features.

For example, the Ring floodlight camera does not have built-in memory storage. This means the camera cannot record and store any footage when offline. You must have a subscription to access Ring’s cloud storage. Additional safety features like the remote-activated siren and SOS button are also exclusive to the subscription plans.

Ring Floodlight Camera: Pros and Cons

Pros:

  • Wide field of view with excellent video and audio quality
  • Mountable on walls and ceilings and easy to install
  • Remote-activated siren
  • Control the floodlights via the Ring app
  • A good warranty and lifetime theft protection

Cons:

  • No built-in battery
  • It only connects to 2.4GHz and 5.0GHz Wi-Fi
  • The Ring app requires a subscription

Ring Floodlight Camera: Is It a Buy?

So, now that you know what to expect from a Ring Floodlight Camera, should you buy it? After reviewing the cameras, I recommend buying a Ring Floodlight camera if you want a floodlight camera that gets the job done. Some manufacturers pack features into their cameras but do not take the time to ensure they work as intended. This is where Ring outshines its competitors. Its floodlight cameras do not have all the features. However, Ring ensures the included features work well.

However, you may want to give it a miss if you are shopping for a more affordable floodlight camera or one with specific features not available in Ring cameras. For example, some models are cheaper than Ring Floodlight Cameras by more than $50. Some companies also do not charge monthly subscriptions for their apps, making them suitable for users with a tight budget. Finally, some cameras have features like built-in batteries, 360° coverage, and object tracking, which are missing in Ring cameras. These reasons may justify buying a different floodlight camera.

  1. Ring Floodlight Cam Wired Plus
    $199.99
    • Motion-activated LED floodlights
    • Color night vision
    • 105dB security siren
    • 1080p video with two-way talk
    • Features customizable motion zones
    • Compatible with Alexa
    Buy Now

    We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.

    01/21/2024 12:34 am GMT
  2. Ring Floodlight Cam Plus with Plug-In Mount
    $219.98
    • Comes with plug-in adapter
    • 1080p video with live view
    • Color night vision
    • Features two-way talk
    • Motion detection and alerts with siren
    • Compatible with Alexa
    Buy Now

    We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.

    01/21/2024 12:34 am GMT
  3. Ring Floodlight Cam Wired Pro
    $249.99
    • Bird's eye view
    • 3D motion detection
    • 1080p HD security camera with motion-activated LED floodlights
    • Two-way talk and Audio+
    • Built-in 110 dB security siren
    Buy Now

    We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.

    01/21/2024 12:28 am GMT
  4. Ring Floodlight Cam Pro Plug-In Power
    $269.98
    • Includes a plug-in adapter
    • Bird’s eye view and noise reduction
    • Motion-activated LED floodlights with 3D motion detection
    • 1080p HDR video
    • Built-in 110 dB security siren
    Buy Now

    We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.

    01/21/2024 12:34 am GMT

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a floodlight camera?

A floodlight camera is a security camera with one or more “bulbs” to illuminate the target area. The floodlights improve visibility at night. They also boost the camera’s color night vision.

Are Ring Floodlight Cameras a good value for the money?

Yes. Ring Floodlight Cameras are a good buy for several reasons. First, they support 1080p video resolution and two-way audio. You can also livestream your home and trigger the siren remotely.

Do the Ring camera’s floodlights stay on all night?

Yes. The cameras have a dusk-to-dawn feature, which allows you to keep the floodlights on all night. However, you can schedule the floodlights to turn on during specific hours.

Are Ring Floodlight Cameras better than standard security cameras?

It is difficult to claim with certainty that Ring Floodlight Cameras are better than standard CCTV cameras. The choice depends on the features you value. For example, some buyers may forego Ring Floodlight Cameras because they do not have offline video storage.

How much does a Ring Floodlight Camera cost?

The price depends on the model you buy. At the time of writing, the Pro model costs about $200 and is more expensive than the Plus model, which costs about $120.

To top