The Greatest NBA Dynasties of All Time

Best basketball game on PC.

The Greatest NBA Dynasties of All Time

Since the National Basketball Association was founded over 78 years ago, plenty of big names and incredible teams have played in the league. While it took some time before the NBA caught on, it exploded in popularity once the public started to see basketball as the third most popular sport.

Helping to popularize the league were the efforts of dynasties like the Los Angeles Lakers and Boston Celtics. With this in mind, let’s look at the greatest NBA dynasties that have made the NBA so popular.

Minneapolis Lakers

Minneapolis Lakers
The Minneapolis Lakers were the first basketball team to become a dynasty.
  • Dynasty years: 1949 – 1954

Before the Lakers moved to Los Angeles, the Minneapolis Lakers created the first true NBA dynasty. Over six years, the team won five NBA championships, becoming the first to win three consecutive titles. Led by George Mikan, the Minneapolis Lakers set the bar for future dynasties. 

Boston Celtics First Dynasty

Bill Russell
Bill Russell and Red Auerbach won 13 NBA championships together.
  • Dynasty years: 1957 – 1976

Led by superstars of the time, Bill Russell, John Havlicek, and head coach Red Auerbach, the Boston Celtics won 13 NBA championships over 20 years. This includes winning 8 consecutive titles in a row, which undoubtedly qualifies as a dynasty. 

Boston Celtics Second Dynasty

Larry Bird helped lead the Celtics to multiple NBA titles.
  • Dynasty years: 1979 – 1988

During the Boston Celtics second dynasty, the team played in five NBA finals and won three NBA championships. Behind the incredible play of Larry Bird, Robert Parish, and Kevin McHale, the Celtics were rough and tough and had a home game record of 40 -1.

Los Angeles Lakers Dynasty One

Magic Johnson led the “Showtime” Lakers to 5 NBA championships.
©"Magic Johnson" by Kip-koech is licensed under BY 2.0. - Original / License
  • Dynasty years: 1979 – 1991

The Boston Celtics’ bitter rivals, the Los Angeles Lakers, established their own NBA dynasty between 1979 and 1991. Popularized as the “Showtime” Lakers, led by Magic Johnson’s fancy moves and footwork, the team won 5 NBA championships and 10 division titles during these 11 years. 

Chicago Bulls

Chicago Bulls
The Chicago Bulls faced off against the New Jersey Nets in 1991.
©The Eloquent Peasant / Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0 International license - Original / License
  • Dynasty years: 1990 – 1998

With Michael Jordan, the greatest basketball player of all time, leading the way in the 1990s, the Chicago Bulls remain one of the greatest teams in basketball. The Bulls won six championships throughout eight seasons, including two three-peats in 1991, 1992, and 1993, and then again in 1996, 1997, and 1998. 

San Antonio Spurs

The San Antonio Spurs faced off against the Dallas Mavericks in the playoffs.
©"NBA Playoffs Dallas Mavericks vs. San Antonio Spurs" by Katie Haugland Bowen is licensed under BY 2.0. - Original / License
  • Dynasty years: 1999 – 2014

With the terrific play of Kawhi Leonard, Tim Duncan, Tony Parker, David Robinson, and Manu Ginobili, the San Antonio Spurs kicked off a 16-season dynasty. Over these seasons, the Spurs won 5 NBA championships, 6 Western Conference titles, 11 division titles, and 22 consecutive playoff appearances. 

Los Angeles Lakers Dynasty Two

Kobe Bryant helped lead the Los Angeles Lakers to a three-peat championship.
  • Dynasty years: 2000 – 2004

Behind the unstoppable one-two punch of Kobe Bryant, Shaquille O’Neal, and coach Phil Jackson, this team was a definite dynasty. Over 5 seasons, the Lakers won 4 Western Conference titles and a three-peat championship in 2000, 2001, and 2002. The 2001 team even went 15-1 in the playoffs. 

Golden State Warriors

Steph Curry has helped lead the Golden State Warriors to four NBA titles.
©"Steph Curry" by btwashburn is licensed under BY 2.0. - Original / License
  • Dynasty years: 2015 – 2022

Steph Curry, the best shooter in the NBA right now, has helped create a dynasty with the Golden State Warriors. The team won four NBA championships and six Western Conference titles during this eight-season stretch. It also had the best regular season of all time in 2015-2016, with a 73-9 record. 

To top