The 9 Circles of Hell from Dante’s Inferno

Dante and Beatrice

The 9 Circles of Hell from Dante’s Inferno

What are the 9 Circles of Hell from Dante’s Inferno? The Divine Comedy or Dante’s Inferno as it is commonly called, took the concept of Hell and spun it on his head. If you don’t remember the poem from your English classes, no worries, I’ve got the circles ordered for you.


9 Circles
Because there wasn’t a Christian church throughout a chunk of history, pagans ended up in Limbo.

As far as the 9 Circles go, Limbo isn’t all bad. It is the home of the virtuous and righteous pagans, those who existed before the Word of God was known to mankind. Here you’ll find such illustrious figures as Hippocrates, Aristotle, and Ovid.


9 Circles
The fierce winds buffet the landscape in Lust, at least there aren’t any boiling pits of lava.

The second of the 9 Circles is Lust, which is ravaged by heavy winds. This is the final destination for those who commit adultery or carry lust in their hearts as you might imagine. In Dante’s day, the poem claims that Helen of Troy and Cleopatra are among the many denizens of this circle.


9 circles
Following Lust, Dante would meet the Cerberus in Gluttony.

When they talk about Hell freezing over, they might be referring to the third of the 9 Circles. Gluttony is covered in a blizzard, with freezing rain and ice everywhere. Dante doesn’t identify any historical figures, but this is for those who simply consume and consume.


Canto VII
Due to their greed, the sinners contained in the Fourth Circle are forced to do hard labor.

Curiously, Dante and Virgil never interact with anyone in the fourth of the 9 Circles. Greed is reserved for those who strive only to attain more and more wealth. Dante and Virgil converse with the residents of the previous circles, however they pass through Greed without talking to a soul.


Compared to the other Circles, Anger lives up to the Christian notion of Hell.

Anger is the fifth of the 9 Circles, a realm where Dante and Virgil are threatened by Furies as they approach the walls of the inner circles. However, they are permitted to pass, prompting questioning from Dante about the nature of his own life and the weight of his mortal sins.


Heresy is the last stop before the Inner Circles, until now the Circles only contain a single area.

Surprisingly, Dante and Virgil encounter some more notable historical figures while in Heresy, the sixth of the circles. In contrast to the other circles, Dante meets notable people like Frederick II and Epicurus. However, most notably they meet Pope Anastasius II, who was proclaimed a heretic after his death.


In truth, it would seem seeing his mentor is a sobering and woeful moment for Dante.

Unlike the other circles, the seventh of the 9 Circles is divided into rings. Violence is for those who commit murder and blasphemers alike. Dante even meets his mentor here, Brunetto Latini. Centaurs guard the outermost ring, shooting escapees with arrows.


Canto 21
Overall, Fraud encompasses many sins, all centered around the despicable ends people will go to for something that isn’t theirs.

In light of the other circles, you might not expect the eighth of the 9 Circles to focus solely on fraud. However, Dante saw this as a grave sin and subsequently, there is no shortage of crooks and seducers. Like the other circles, this is divided up into rings, though notable figures are named.


Canto 32
Treachery is something entirely different compared to the other circles, with traitors frozen in place in the outer-most circle.

The final circle is that of treachery. In light of the other circles, it would seem this one might rank lower. However, you’ll find Cassius, Brutus, and Judas Iscariot at the center of this circle. The three great betrayers of history are being gnawed on by Satan.

To top